Question and Answer

You mentioned that you are retired… I’m curious, do you have a separate portfolio of “safe“ stocks? Your current portfolio posted on this board only contains seven or eight stocks, and they are all quite aggressive with superior returns. But I was wondering if you have a separate portfolio of less aggressive, safer stocks…

I received the above question in an off-board email. I responded as follows:

Sorry, I have all my investing money in the portfolio on the board. but that’s what I do because I’ve been doing it for many years, I’m confident in it, and I know it works for me. You should do what you are comfortable with, not follow me.

By the way, the S&P has finally gotten positive for the year and the Dow is still negative. My portfolio is up 119% (more than doubled). By what crazy criteria do you consider companies that have CONTINUED to grow at rapid rates in the middle of an economic downturn less safe than the standard stocks?

Today is an example with, as of when I started typing this, all the market averages are slightly down and my portfolio is up over 3%, with the individual stocks being up 1.3% to 6.2%. How are the market stocks “safer”???

Saul

77 Likes

Most equate volatility with risk. They couldn’t handle their portfolio falling 30% in the course of 2 months for no real reason as yours did from July to October of last year. It doesn’t matter if the portfolio is up 80% on the year. Whether because they start spending the money they don’t actually have or because they just can’t stomach the loss, it results in emotional distress and panic selling. At least when all the stocks drop at the same time as everyone else’s, like in March of this year, they can commiserate with others and just accept it as an act of whatever deity they choose to believe in.