RWW Port Update: esp. NARI, TDOC, FUBO, GAN

Down to 11 equities, really 10 as I consider 2 an inextricable pair. I exited 2 positions - Teledoc and Inari - and as a physician, my comments on those might be the only original thoughts I have about an equity that aren’t echoed other places on the board.

Exited positions (TDOC, NARI)

Teledoc (TDOC)
I sold after finally concluding that it really is just GLORIFIED TRIAGE. As an ER physician (I also do critical care), via telehealth I can’t repair a laceration, run heart tests and refer you for emergent stents, or any other thing that requires labs or a CT scan. In short, all the things that MATTER and all the things that REIMBURSE well, I CAN’T DO. Feedback we get from surveys is patients hate virtual health (except a few millenials who aren’t are target market anyway, we like frail, old people and the accident prone). The only ones who seem to push it is the big insurers hoping to save few bucks in the space of primary care. And since that’s their motive, it’s probably not a surprise to you that this modality compensates docs poorly. Which it should - since we’re really not doing much. So why did I get into Teledoc in the first place? For one, remote patient monitoring (this was why they acquired InTouch). I remain excited by this, but it’s not a big enough part of their business to justify the valuation in my mind. Second, I had hoped they might be in pursuit, ultimately, of what I consider the holy grail of healthcare technology. That is… wait for it … A SaaS application! Apple has failed. Google has failed. Someday, some company, will figure out how to centralize everyone’s health records that is secure, and accessible to both patients and their doctors with ease. This will be a true value add to healthcare. We aren’t there yet, and TDOC has made no inroads or given any indication that is their aim.

Inari (NARI)