SolarEdge (SEDG) mid-quarter review

SolarEdge (SEDG) mid-quarter review

Let me preface by emphasizing that I am not a techie, and therefore what I am giving on my own inexact impressions, which may definitely include misunderstandings. I know nothing about solar technology. Nothing! Okay,

Who is SolarEdge?
This company was founded in 2006 and is headquartered in Israel, which already adds a certain political and war risk (although the way things are going the war risk seems to be spreading around the world). The company designs and manufactures direct current (DC) optimized inverter systems for solar photovoltaic installations in Israel, Europe, the United States, and internationally. Its DC optimized inverter systems include power optimizers, inverters, and cloud-based monitoring software. Basically, as I understand it, they sell something essential for installing solar panels. And they sell the best of the product that they are selling.

Isn’t solar a risky field to be in?
Heck, Yes! Government subsidies are supposed to expire at the end of 2016. Plus, the falling price of oil has not only killed the oil companies; any company related to solar has been killed too.

What is your history with them?
I’ve been a stockholder for roughly 5 months now. They are just below the middle of my pack, the eighth of fourteen positions.

Don’t technology manufacturers have constant pressure to cut prices?