Splunk (SPLK)

Hi,

I’m looking to get a better view of Splunk. SPLK currently makes up 2% of my portfolio and I am trying to decide if any action is warranted in any direction (buy, sell, hold).

Splunk is going through a transition to Cloud and I have very little experience with how this might play out. For example, look at the total rev vs cloud rev results (from their press release on May 21st: https://investors.splunk.com/news-releases/news-release-deta…)

• Cloud revenue was $112 million, up 81% year-over-year.
  • Total revenues were $434 million, up 2% year-over-year.

This is nice too:

• ARR was $1.775 billion, up 52% year-over-year.

The slides have some more information but is mostly beyond my ability to glance and interpret: https://investors.splunk.com/static-files/f5a765ef-82cf-4ac0…

This article offers some insight:
https://www.fool.com/investing/2020/05/28/splunks-cloud-tran…

• the company’s migration to a cloud-centric software model is hiding the massive growth actually taking place under the surface. Splunk said its customers’ demand for cloud products was once again much greater than anticipated
  • cloud representing 44% of software bookings in the quarter, up from 35% just three months
  • Annual recurring revenue (ARR), which combines renewable cloud contracts and term sales and which now makes up nearly all of the revenue mix, was up 52% to $1.78 billion.
    "The fast move to the cloud is creating some near-term hiccups, the biggest glare coming off the negative operating profit margin. The adjusted operating margin was negative 25.6% in Q1 and expected to be negative 10% to 15% in Q2. Ouch.