The invisible workers

I graduated from college in 1992 and started working as an intern two weeks after I graduated. I was only earning $1700 per month. My rent was $550 per month, car insurance $50 per month (when annualized). When you add up all the other expenses, $1700 per month was not a lot for someone in their early 20s. I enjoyed my job but after about a month I started projecting my financial situation into the future. I realized that I would be working for a very long time. I also realized that if I saved money and invested it well that I would someday be able to earn more from my investments than from my job. At the age of 22 this became my goal. Even if I liked my work, I could work; however, if I made enough of a return on my accumulated money, I would no longer be required to work. I now call this concept hiring the invisible worker(s). You can work for money, but you can also invest your money which is sort of like hiring someone to work for you without you having to work yourself. You don’t need to feed and cloth these workers; they don’t sleep and they can work 24/7 without getting tired. As you get more money, you can hire additional workers. Eventually, you get to the point where your workers earn enough so that you can hire new workers at an increasing rate. So taking my salary when I started working which is roughly equivalent to minimum wage today, every $100,000 growing at 20% is an invisible worker.