Thoughts on AYX, Data Analysis, & the Cloud

Hi everyone! Haven’t posted much outside of a few stats analyses based on the Oomph factor, but wanted to add my two-cents here regarding data analysis, the cloud, and AYX.

For background, I have a PhD in social science and work as a quantitative researcher at a Fortune 100 company. Most of my data is spent performing quantitative analysis for the company.

Where AYX fits:
I’ve never used AYX and no one on my team uses AYX. Almost all of us use R, Stata, or python. That being said, we are not the norm of people who are doing any type of data analysis. In fact, we represent a small portion of the company doing data analysis for the company. Most of my team has PhDs and the standard is to use R, Stata, or python.

I spent about an hour this morning actually playing with the AYX demo and watching some videos. It is very clear to me who this product is oriented towards. It is 100% driven towards people who have done data analysis using Excel in the past. While I thought it was pretty neat, I would likely never use it since nor would people on my team. That does not mean it is not valuable, it just means it is geared for certain roles.

For one, it is only available on Windows. R and python (discussed more below) are platform agnostic, meaning I can send the code to anyone on any machine (Windows, Linux, Mac) and they can run it. To me this suggests the market for AYX was never people like me who value this feature and usability. This also suggests that AYX is not suitable for anything in production (this is more of DataDog’s wheelhouse).