AMBA

Greetings,

Driving home this last Friday in Austin I heard an announcement on the local station stating that Austin’s Police Department had committed to buying 500 body cams for police officers at a price of either 2 or 3 million(I don’t know what all this includes). And I do not know if AMBA chips are in these cameras.

This type of purchase should help AMBA in general regardless. Austin, while unfortunately being stuck in Texas, is generally considered to be progressive. I am guessing that this perceived status of Austin’s will help the transition nationwide to more police body cams if other departments look at this as a positive example to follow or perhaps an inevitable trend.

Gary - buying more AMBA

3 Likes

Chicago is adding $5 to traffic tickets to pay for body cams for it’s officers.

Rob

1 Like

That’s $4000-$6000 per cam. Gold-plated?

John

1 Like

I have no experience with this stuff, just thinking out loud…

It isn’t just putting cameras on each officer. The data collection, storage and management challenge looks pretty significant to me. Servers with lots of disks to store the data, at least one software package to manage it, and a whole heap of memory cards to rotate through the cameras. And backing it all up, of course. If the rules of chain-of-evidence requires the original flash cards, not just a copy of the data, that provides another whole pile of storage and management.

2 Likes

You never know. The place doesn’t look the same as it used to you. Lots of folks bringing the bling!

Seriously, I thought the same thing that you thought…but it was either 2 or 3 million that was announced. I am wondering if they are perhaps needing to buy lots of support equipment? If so, perhaps they lumped this in together.

I just found this online.

http://kut.org/post/apd-add-500-body-cameras-end-year

Here’s an earlier article.

http://www.kvue.com/story/news/local/2015/04/06/austin-polic…

2 Likes