DDOG, ESTC, MDB: perspectives

Reading through the recent long discussion on Data Dog (DDOG), Elastic (ESTC), and MongoDB (MDB) has been very interesting. We all know the numbers by now and I won’t repeat them. I want to instead offer a few bits of perspective from outside the discussion combined with a little bit of my own personal experience.

MDB: My experience as a user

I am a software engineer by trade. While I have retired from that profession, I do still sometimes take on a small project or develop an app for my own personal use. As I am invested in MDB I thought I would give it a try in a personal project and compare other available options. My use case is trivial compared to the capabilities of the database: a simple data store for a music player.

Conclusion: MongoDB is amazing to work with and has no viable direct alternative.

There are many NoSQL database options available. I looked through the capabilities of every option I could find and created tests for working with a few of the most promising. For the type of capability MongoDB offers (document based NoSQL database), I found no other option which I felt comes close to the capabilities of MongoDB. I did find a few which were better in specific use cases, however even then those alternatives often did not offer the ability to scale up to large size as is possible with MongoDB. MongoDB is not perfect. The interface is at times irritating. Yet I don’t see any realistic alternative I would choose if I needed a large scale document based NoSQL database.

As an investor, I find this hopeful for my investment. It helps me understand that there is good reason MongoDB customers love the database and why there is a lot of room in the industry to attract new customers. It also gives me faith that customers are not going to be leaving MongoDB any time soon.

I see a very real possibility for MDB becoming an industry juggernaut on par with CSCO.