Foundation portfolio from scratch

Hi Folks,

I’m still fairly new to the game and looking for some guidance. I’ve just moved my pension over to a self invested pension, and I’ve got some decent savings too. All in all we’re talking in the region of $150k. I’m 38 years old, and keen to retire as early as possible, but without compromising lifestyle.

I’ve only dabbled around $15k in stocks that interest me so far (that are also Fool picks), but I’m really in the position where I need to build a diversified portfolio largely from scratch.

Can anyone provide any guidance as to where to go to look? Do I just look at the foundation stocks published on the Fools site? Do I just go back over all the most recent picks? I’m an amateur and I have a young family, so I’m really not in the position to study the financial reports of a large portfolio every quarter.

Many thanks in advance.

Banjomaker,

If you aren’t willing to learn how to do financial statement analysis --so you can make informed stock picks-- then these are your choices:

#1, Continuing buying your stock-picking advice from a firm such as TMF (not that there aren’t dozens of others with far better track records, such as Zacks, Value Line, Morningstar, etc.) and hope they don’t steer you wrong.

#2, Follow the free, stock-picking advice offered by brokers such as Schwab, E*trade, or Fidelity (all of which have better track records than TMF) and hope they don’t steer you wrong.

#3, Skip picking individual stocks, and just index your portfolio.

Arindam

2 Likes

Most investors are best off to begin with mutual funds or etfs. An S&P 500 Index fund such as Vanguard’s 500 Index Fund (ticker VFINX) or SPY or a total market fund such as VTI are good ones.

As your resources grow and as you gain experience, many would add an international fund, a growth fund, a hot sector fund, sometimes a bond fund. Then gradually add individual stocks as you become aware of good opportunities.