Help for a Newbie please

I have been a MF investor for more than a decade. I have built a nice portfolio - BUT I now have over 120 stocks, because I have I think every newsletter published. So, how does one unwind a portfolio of that size, and go from 120 stocks to 10-12, that would mean investing a few hundred thousand plus into each stock pick! Some of you must be doing that times X. Pushing that button on a purchase for amounts that high would clearly make my fingers shake!! I am very happy to owning many fewer stocks and improving my rates of return.

I have read nearly 5000 posts (yes, my lips are tired from all that reading - I was a Marine fighter pilot, so speed reading is not my strength) :wink:

I think you give fantastic insight - Saul is a hero, and many others rank with him, so thank you for all the guidance.

If an offline discussion is more appropriate please let me know and I will provide details.

Thanks Steve Manzi for turning me on to this great forum.

Best regards,

GaFez
Atlanta GA

14 Likes

I am far more of a newbie than you, having only started investing in individual companies in October of 2014. That said, I would suggest that you try to avoid thinking you need to trim your number of holdings all at once. Set up a plan that is manageable, maybe plan to decide on a set number of companies to trim per set time period (2 per week to 5 per week, maybe?). Start by picking the holdings you feel like have the least potential for future share price appreciation and start making bite-sized changes to get down to whatever you decide is your target level of concentration.

As still a newbie, I feel very fortunate to have found this board prior to getting above about 15-20 positions. That should continue to give me the advantage of never having to go through a major culling process during my investing career.

volfan84

4 Likes