GH First Impressions Part 1

Hello. I’m excited to start my deep dive into Guardant Health. These “First Impression” posts will present an in-depth overview of the company. A follow-up post will provide analysis of Guardant’s first quarter earnings report. Finally, on the TMF Premium boards, I will review the “5-and-3” analysis that Simon Erickson provided when the company was recommended, bringing it up to date with news from the current quarter.

Who is TMFDatabaseBob?
I’m a retired database engineer. I started subscribing to The Motley Fool in April 2005, drawn to the Rule Breakers and Hidden Gems newsletters. I recognized that the Foolish Community succeeds best when many members contribute, and I learned a lot of great stuff in those early days. I had some investing knowledge before I joined TMF. I had been interested in the stock market since my youth. My undergraduate degree featured a dual-major in Mathematics and Computer Science, but I also accumulated a fair number of Accounting and Business Law classes. I have an M.B.A. from a school that is noted for its Finance department; I did not major in Finance but took as many Finance elective classes as I could. Still, I feel as if my learning really accelerated as a Fool. Grateful, and eager to contribute, I ran “Member-Built Portfolios” for Rule Breakers and Hidden Gems for several years. I also performed “deep dives” into many of the Rule Breakers’ biotech recommendations. I have no background in biology or medicine, but I studied hard and learned fast. In 2007, The Motley Fool started an initiative where they chose Foolish subscribers who they felt could provide ongoing coverage of companies that the in-house analysts had already recommended, alleviating the analysts of their duties for ongoing coverage. I was honored to be among the inaugural group chosen for the “Community Analyst Team” and I’ve been analyzing and writing in that role since then, although the group has subsequently morphed into Coverage Fo