How might this affect UBNT?

http://discussion.fool.com/1069/wi-fi-access-equipment-to-busine…

Any one here with the expertise in this area to chime in and help me, and potentially others, understand if this Google proposition could have a meaningful reflection on our UBNT investment. Similar space? Direct competition? No bearing?

I read nearly every word of discussion here on Saul’s Board. (great going and thanks Saul!) I don’t have a lot to offer in analysis as I am still learning how to study and value companies. I sure have benefited from the veterans on this board. What a great clan among Fooldom.

KLVanLiew

VanLiew,

Google is definitely playing around in one of UBNT’s target markets as UBNT wants to provide wi-fi and enterprise networking services to small and medium sized businesses. I don’t know if anyone knows what the impact will be on UBNT. There isn’t any mention of which equipment Google is going to use - for all we know, they could be marketing UBNT equipment. Even if they aren’t, there is plenty of room in this market so it may not have a significant impact at all. It could also raise awareness that there is very cost effective networking equipment out there, which many SMB owners may not know because they’re too focused on running their business.

I’m sure Pera is aware of this - he’s a pretty sharp guy.

Jason
Long UBNT

1 Like

Google is definitely playing around in one of UBNT’s target markets as UBNT wants to provide wi-fi and enterprise networking services to small and medium sized businesses. I don’t know if anyone knows what the impact will be on UBNT. There isn’t any mention of which equipment Google is going to use - for all we know, they could be marketing UBNT equipment.

This article seems to indicate Ruckus maybe the partner which is also a RB pick that has not faired so well lately. I hold some as well as UBNT so don’t mind it either way

http://gigaom.com/2014/05/22/google-is-working-with-ruckus-w…