How to grow a portfolio from scratch in a UK ISA

Hello all. I’m new to the game but I’m on board with the Foolish strategy and keen to start building.

I wanted to ask for tips/advice and how to building a portfolio and get an idea for my roadmap over the next year or two as I build out my holdings.

I’ve started with a UK Stocks and Shares ISA (with the intention of avoiding capital gains tax). However the rules around this are that fractional shares are not allowed, I have to buy whole shares. I am starting out with just a few hundred pounds, and don’t have large amounts of disposable income to add each month, though I will grow it.

I get the target of ultimately having 25+ stocks and likely having them at generally a single digit percentage position. However my current position I could buy, for example, 1 MSFT and have some change, but that’s not exactly diversified. I’ve started by buying into a small number of ETFs and some cheaper stocks to start with.

Would you focus on getting breadth before worrying about balanced positions? How important is it to have that balance early on? Would you focus on ETFs over stocks till the portfolio as it is gets larger? Or any other ideas are much appreciated, as I say I want to plan for the long haul. Thanks for your thoughts!

Welcome Lukethefool. We’re glad you could join us.

Its difficult for us to advise you as we don’t know the rules in UK. TMF used to have a UK operation but I think it folded some years ago. We also had a board on international investing. It’s gone too. Because of concerns about money laundering, the rules are strict and most US investment companies won’t do business with a Brit. That being said, here are a few thoughts.