March Update: Plotting Growth vs Valuation

Just a Fool’s March Update
Portfolio Performance as of March 31, 2019

```

Jan +22.7%
Feb +34.5%
Mar +37.6%

```

Plotting Manageable Cash (Gross Margin * Growth Rate) by Valuation (P/S)
In my effort to better understand “relative value”, I have formed a way to compare / contrast high growth, high margin companies by their valuation.

What I am seeking is an innovative company that is growing significant amounts of cash from revenue (high margins * high growth) that the management team can allocate as they see fit. I am no financial expert, but to me, it comes down to “how is management growing its war chest”. I am thinking this can help me marry my conviction for a company with the financial firepower that management has at its disposal to build a world-class company.

Here are the plots for critical feedback. I use FinViz for all my P/S because I frankly don’t have the time to update this every single day. I look at the P/S at the close of the last Friday of the month I report. I pull revenues directly from Company Financial Results.

P/S vs Manageable Growth Plot:
http://imgur.com/a/4BXjlan

1 Year Forward P/S vs Manageable Growth Plot:
http://imgur.com/a/n6mvjDN
To calculate a year forward, I look at the growth rate over the past year. If it has decelerated, I assume that deceleration will continue at a rate that is 50% of the past year. If it has accelerated, I take the average of the past two quarters and hold flat for the year. I have two exceptions to this rule - APPN and NTNX - where I focus only the subscription revenues and margins in my calculations of the company’s value and forward value. For NTNX, I severely degraded the growth moving forward given their latest guidance.

Comments about Changes from February to March