Mistake I made this week

So let me first start start out by saying Thank you Saul as well a lot of people on this board for the insight and learning and deep dives that you all provide to me. Reading the write-ups are learning experiences for certain in my continued growth of investing.

I am new to investing truly so for me, this past week was semi difficult. At first I went in with the approach that I will just hold out the storm, the more it went, the more skiddish I became and ultimately sold out of a lot of my positions across the board that I had larger winnings. I had a more diversified portfolio than what a lot of people here as I have been in about 15 or so stocks in which I believe a lot of others are closer to 6-8.

I guess at the end of the day, the end decision becomes mine with what I want to do with regards to my portfolio, but I do like to get advice from people as everything is a learning opportunity.

For me, I am younger to where risk is not the end of the world, but when I lost over 15% of my gains in a matter of 3 days, yeah I went into fight/flight and ended up selling a good chunk of my portfolio. Not necessarily over the CoronaViurs because Hell, the flu kills more than this disease does. At the end of the day I keep thinking a recession is going to hit overnight and lose everything.

So with someone who is mostly cash, do people on this board take a more blended approach as investing is concerned (dividend/established/high growth stocks) as far as building out a portfolio or are most just truly in high growth stocks like the 1’s primarily discussed on this board. I’m still deciding my next move currently.

Besides all of this, part of me is saying, forget selling now because at the end of the day, the price I sold compared to what the price of the stock now is mute. I lost out if they are now above my sell price. For me, its not deciding which direction to move.