Plug-in hybrid cars

I’m not a car expert like others on this board, just an ordinary consumer, kind of a little-old-lady Everywoman. Having read the distressing experiences of EV road trips, I wouldn’t buy an EV car. But I would consider a hybrid gas-EV since most of my driving is local but I do occasionally make a road trip.

https://www.nytimes.com/2022/08/05/business/plug-in-hybrid-e…

**After Losing Favor to Electric Cars, Plug-In Hybrids Gain Ground**

**There has been a surge in the sales of cars that can travel short distances on just electricity and have a gasoline engine for longer trips.**
**By Lawrence Ulrich, The New York Times, Aug. 5, 2022**

**...**
**Plug-in hybrid sales are climbing in the United States, in part because of the recent surge in gasoline prices. Automakers sold a record 176,000 such cars last year...This year, sales of plug-in hybrids could reach 180,000, analysts said, even as the overall new-car market drops to 14.4 million from 15.3 million a year earlier....**

**All-electric cars have seized around 5 percent of the new-car market. ... But hybrids — led by a growing selection of plug-ins — still make up about 7 percent of sales, and that number could grow for at least a few years...**

**The average cost of a new all-electric car is now a steep $66,000. ... Unlike conventional hybrids, which can be refueled only with gasoline and are dependent on engines, plug-in varieties can operate entirely on battery propulsion. And because these cars have smaller batteries than all-electric vehicles, they can be more affordable. The cars are also appealing because they do not have to be plugged in for many hours to be fully charged....It helps that buyers of some of the leading models, like the Toyota RAV4 Prime, Jeep Wrangler 4xe, BMW 330e and Hyundai Santa Fe plug-in, can claim a federal income tax credit of up to $7,500....** [end quote]