Question for Saul

Hi Saul

I am a newbie to this board but have already learnt enormously from it. Thank you very much indeed for your amazing generosity!

My question is regarding SHOP: I have a position in it but haven’t added to it since I saw your rationale for getting out of it.

However TMF seems to believe in it, so I’m conflicted: do I go by the investing thesis as put out by TMF or by the numbers that you have alerted us to?

I’d appreciate any input you would have for me.

Thanks a ton!
d

However TMF seems to believe in it, so I’m conflicted: do I go by the investing thesis as put out by TMF or by the numbers that you have alerted us to?

Neither. You learn from both and make up your own mind.

Denny Schlesinger

47 Likes

Hi D,

You have to figure out these things for yourself, and it is NOT easy! Investing is not easy.

I totally empathize with the desire to simply follow Saul and other board members in their buys and sells; they all seem so smart!

That said, when I find myself blindly following, it doesn’t work as well for me. I don’t have the conviction that I would like to have in my portfolio, and I find myself second-guessing those moves moreso than the things that I have picked and decided on independently.

I actually did have SHOP, sold SHOP and rebought SHOP a while back. I’m sure that seeing Saul dump SHOP and hearing others’ negative comments about it (around the time of the marijuana stuff?) shook me out of it. I bought back in later, and now I hope to hold it for a long time.