Question on 6/3 strategy

I am new to Mechanical investing and have been looking to learn about it recently. I saw the FAQs and the webpage with details. Not sure who did that, but thanks a lot, there is a wealth of information there!!

I had a question on the 6/3 strategy that Elann had proposed…I realize the posts are old, but they are very useful!

Elann says “VL T1+2, DH10-RRS126-2s
Buy the top four each month, 0-10% OTM, 6-8 months from expiration. Hold three months. Rinse, repeat.
I’ve added a timing element. When NH-NL is bearish I don’t buy new options and I hedge the existing positions with an inverse S&P ETF.”

I understand the VL T1+2 (Value line T1,T2)…But have no idea what the DH10-RRS126-2s

Can someone point out to what these screens are, and how to access them.

Thanks,
Peter

3 Likes

Does this post help?
https://discussion.fool.com/elan-can-you-remind-us-what-that-ter…

RRS is regression relative strength: run a trend line through the (log) stock price history, and sort stocks by the slope of that line.
The other bits, the -2s and DH10 are explained in the linked post.

Jim

2 Likes

Thanks a lot Jim, this is very helpful…and what a pleasant surprise compared to another board I posted as newcomer where I was not only misunderstood but called a troll, but hey, live and let live ):

I am no good in TA and have only vaguely heard about RSI, but not sure what RSS means and how to perform the calculation you mentioned

“Calculate Regression-Relative-Strength over 126 trading days, minus 2 standard deviations of daily price changes. The standard deviation is calculated over 252 days.”

Could you please explain How do we do that?

Cheers,
Peter

Could you please explain How do we do that?

Well, first, the practical answer:
Just a speculation, but I think if you sent Elann a very very polite private message he might send you the spreadsheet he uses.
I think such a thing exists, not sure.

Here is a summary of my flawed understanding.