Robin Hood.com

Anyone looked into Robinhood.com? They offer zero commission trading. Sounds almost too good to be true.

Anyone looked into Robinhood.com? They offer zero commission trading. Sounds almost too good to be true.

Hi Not Dutch,
I guess that would be fine if I was a high speed trader, but being as I’m not, commissions are just a tiny, tiny part of whether my investments are successful or not. Therefore, I’d rather leave my investments and money with someone I have confidence in lie Schwab, and not with someone I don’t know beans about. Just thinking out loud.
Saul

1 Like

The obvious question, other than Saul’s question of security, is, how do they make their money, if not on commissions? Hopefully, it is not by robbing the rich and giving to the poor. Their answer is:

Robinhood charges interest for margin trading and collects interest on cash balances.

Robinhood is well-funded by notable investors such as Index Ventures, Ribbit Capital, Google Ventures, Andreessen Horowitz, Social Leverage, and many others, which affords us the freedom to focus on building a wonderful brokerage experience rather than short-term profits.

Charging interest on cash balances seems peculiar to me … usually cash sits in a money fund and earns interest, albeit not much these days.

1 Like

agreed…thought it was a bit iffy…

Evertime I have seen zero commission trades they last for about a year and then fees gradually increase onece they hit some critical mass of customers.

3 Likes

Or they get you on the spreads, which could cost you a lot more than a commission. The smaller the market cap, the wider the spread tends to be between the bid and ask. Lots of brokerages have stock in their inventory and if you look at your orders you will often see that they sold you stock out of their own inventory which is a no-cost transaction to them, but executed at what price? I’ve had some issues with brokerages in the past where I didn’t get a good execution.

2 Likes