Skyworks (SWKS) mid-quarter review

Skyworks (SWKS) mid-quarter review

Let me preface by emphasizing that I am not a techie, and therefore what I am giving on my own inexact impressions, which may definitely include misunderstandings. Okay,

Who is Skyworks?
This company was founded in 1962 and is headquartered in Massachusetts. They design and manufacture their own complex analog semiconductors that power wireless connectivity in everything from smartphones to medical devices. They are sometimes lumped as an “Apple supplier” but they sell their chips to just about every smart phone manufacturer there is, and their products are in almost every model produced by every manufacturer. They are also expanding into the Internet of Things and are in automobiles, smart homes, etc.

What is your history with them?
I’ve been a stockholder for roughly 16 months now. They are my largest position, and have been one of my top three for a long time. My SWKS position size is larger than it’s prudent to have for a position in any one stock. Yes, I’m aware of that.

Don’t chip manufacturers become commoditized?
Yes, that usually happens because competitors make cheaper competing products, causing the company’s margins to fall and fall. Skyworks has taken a different route, however and have become a “Master of Complexity”. They plan with the manufacturer from six months to two years ahead of time what the manufacturer wants and needs in a future model, and then Skyworks combines multiple functions in the same chip. They make themselves indispensible to the manufacturer. Their gross margins have been rising consistently, not falling. They had set a medium range goal of 50% gross margins but have already surpassed that so they have raised their goals to 55%. Their operating margins were about 35% last time I looked. Does that sound as if they are being commoditized?

How does this benefit their customers?