Thoughts on StoneCo (STNE)

A few months ago, I became intrigued with StoneCo – on the notion that it might be the “Square of Brazil” – and bought a small position while I studied it. I came across several questions that I just didn’t know the answer to.

My primary concern is with its business model, which requires Stone Hubs, local sales and customer support offices, to be operated in all the areas where merchants will be using StoneCo’s services. From the company’s annual 20-F filing:

We distribute our solutions primarily through proprietary Stone Hubs. These hubs are located in small and medium-sized cities, or suburban areas of larger cities, and are designed to provide hyper-local sales and services and high-quality, on-demand support to SMB merchants within the hub’s designated area of operations. Our hubs may share an office depending on the size of the area served. We believe this approach enables us to provide a superior customer experience to our clients and is a key part of our go-to-market strategy. We had 245 operational Stone Hubs in January 2019, and we are currently growing our hubs’ footprint to maximize our presence in Brazil and provide sales coverage to the country’s approximately 5,500 cities with a total population of 208.5 million.

This just raised concerns about how well StoneCo could scale. One of Square’s more attractive qualities is that one can easily purchase the hardware online or at a local Best Buy, and on-board within minutes. It’s easy and self-intuitive. There is no need for Square to have offices in different regions for sales or customer support.