What can pensioners do when the pension system is being mismanaged?

I am a retired teacher in Indiana. This story is about my pension. So my question is not an academic exercise.

3 Likes

That is what you get when your neighbors are stuck in the mud. The primordial ooze. At least you got more than the $7.25 per hour. Some bright side.

The problem here is that half the retired teachers want their pension money run through an ESG filter, and the other half do not. How do you solve that problem?

Unless you are implying that you are [more] in favor of individual retirement arrangements rather than co-mingled pension arrangements? Then you can choose to filter by ESG and your neighbor can choose not to if they so desire.

1 Like

Good luck with that.

Some years ago, Honda of America employees sued, alleging Honda and it’s 401k administrator failed their fiduciary duty. The administrator, Merrill Lynch, invested the 401k money in funds managed by Merrill, which were notable for both their high costs, and low performance. The court granted Honda’s motion to dismiss.

Remember the push in Congress, some years ago, to hold retirement fund advisors to a fiduciary standard? Remember how the financial industry howled? Apparently, in Shiny-land, conflict of interest and self-dealing are good, but duty to the person whose money you are playing with is bad.

7 Likes

I’m guessing there is no “buy out” option where you can take a lump sum and run. I ALWAYS opted to get the money in my grubby little hands.

FWIW, the WSJ journal has had several articles over the past couple years showing at best that ESG equals non-ESG investing but usually underperforms. The biggest issue though is there is no consensus definition of what qualifies as ESG. For example, Exxon ranks high in many ESG reviews but the average person that worries about such things wouldn’t think so.

4 Likes