What makes ZS special

ajm101: I don’t think Zscaler is nearly as revolutionary as people here think it is. I’ve been in software R&D for about as long as iptables has been around. I would be happy to be convinced otherwise, but nothing anyone has written about it here has done so yet. It might be the single riskiest stock I’ve ever heard of.

Perhaps you could explain why you don’t find the technology revolutionary. Also, how would you explain how have they signed up 400+ of the Forbes Global 2000 as customers, and 100+ of the Forbes 500? Maybe also explain why Crowdstrike recently chose to partner with them.

That’s why I think Zscaler is special – the companies they’ve attracted. I’m no techie, so I don’t lean on any expertise of my own…but perhaps you shouldn’t either? You may be great, but sometimes expertise can mislead us. Just because we don’t have a taste for something doesn’t mean it won’t be wildly successful. Zscaler’s customers need not call Zscaler “revolutionary” – they have voted for ZS with their dollars, and they trust them for the security of their giant businesses.

No offense, but I’m betting on the technical expertise of Crowdstrike and 400 other enterprises over yours. But I would be happy to be convinced otherwise. What say you?

Bear

39 Likes

The real issue is, as Kingran states, why isn’t Zscaler special, and why has no one copied or even tried imitate what they do?

What Zscaler does is not create virtual single tenant machines in the cloud. Such virtual machines have dramatic limitations such as dynamic load balancing that they lack. E.g. see https://ir.zscaler.com/static-files/bcbf2456-f86a-43e9-adf2-… - slide 4 on the Technology Differentiation section.