When not to Buy 3EMA and Price Action

I am new to Motley Fool and have been looking at many of their recommendations, but before I buy any share (even ones recommended by Fool) I look at their chart and I put 8, 20, 50, and 150 EMAs onto the charts and unless the price action is above the 8, 20 and 50 EMA my view is they are in a Down Trend and I am not going to risk my capital by trying to pick a bottom without real bull Price trend. I trade on the Day chart, but look at the weekly and monthly charts and look back to determine past support and resistance levels as they are likely to affect the trade. When I enter a trade I want it to have the potential to do well and not hit past resistance points

Here are some of my notes I have made on the Fools Recommendations
TEAM In Bear Trend, but can be bouncing up, Further bear candles 21 April, so still in Bear Trend.
U Unity Software Inc - in Bear Trend possibly near entering Bull Market, but not yet a Buy.
ISRG Intuitive Surgical Bear trend broken with HHighs and HLows? Still below 3EMA’s - Closed above 50EMA but still below 20 & 8 EMA, resistance just above so still not a Buy - 21 April
ANET Arista Networks - IN BULL Trend, Possible Double Top reversal, currently Ranging, I would want to see some retracement back to say touch the 50EMA and wait for a Green candle to close above the 50EMA.

3 Likes

Welcome and thanks for the interesting post.

I exited isrg a few years ago, quite happy.

david fb

1 Like

No-one here posts much about technical analysis.

Somewhere where you might get more of a reply maybe:

https://discussion.fool.com/technical-traders-sanctuary-115480.a…

1 Like

Ken, welcome to the METAR Board – Macro Economic Trends and Risks. Note that “Macro” means “affecting the economy on the large scale, thus impacting investments.”