Why more confidence in SWKS than AMBA?

My biggest position, SWKS, was also my biggest position last month … It now is at a position size of 21.3%, a price of $82, and a PE of 15.5, and a rate of growth of earnings of 63%. Note the huge disconnect between the PE and the rate of growth! There has been NO company specific bad news. I’m trying to keep my position size under 22%… snip…

AMBA, my next stock, is the exception. AMBA was fifth last month at 7.6%. and is now ninth at 5.5% … I wrote last month that I’m not tech savvy enough to be able to judge AMBA’s growth prospects going forward, in spite of all the recs and re-recs from various MF services, and it was because of this that I somewhat reduced the size of my position. If it does well from here, I have enough to profit nicely.

Hi Saul,
I always appreciate your posts. Just curious about your comment on AMBA and not being tech savvy enough to judge it’s growth prospects as it might relate to your SWKS position. Could you talk a little bit about what it is that allows you to be so confident with SWKS whereas with AMBA you’re a little less sure? Thanks! Appreciate your insights.
Michael

This is a good question, and I was tempted at first to say that it was just the emotional way I felt about the stocks, but I realized that there was more to it than that, lots more.

AMBA was growing very fast but was reliant for 30% of its business on GoPro, a company already exhibiting weakness, and perhaps in a business (sports cameras) about to go into a total nosedive.

SWKS had Apple for a major customer, but Apple is very successful, smart phones aren’t going to go away, and SWKS is in every other smart phone manufacturer as well.