Zeihan-US-Re-Industrialization & Inflation-Powell-Interest Rates

Now we’re having to reshore everything and turn over the power system, driving construction levels and spending through the roof. And the Inflation Reduction Act has helped provide the funding and regulatory structure to make it all happen.

Although inflation will be up there for a while[1] surprise, you can’t double your industrial plant without that happening), we’re on a solid trajectory to establish a fully regionalized supply chain.

[1] Industrialization does not happen overnight–so higher inflation for years.
How does this factor into Powell’s thinking & interest rates?

3 Likes

I’ve said this before, but the construction industry in Ohio and Nebraska is exploding. Use this information as you will, but the funnel of money into this area is almost unbelievable.

1 Like

Wendy and I have been discussing this for a couple of years now. You are only posting most of the time. I am not going to say it endlessly for someone who wont read my stuff for two years. Well…I will because you will read it once and be up to speed. Instead of coming up with opinions that have nothing to do with things.

Powell in all likelihood wont be chair. His term will end and another chair will be there. So the question either way is that will the FED do? The FED will keep rates normalized. The balance of taxes on the top bracket and the effective rate on corporation will be set up against higher rates to tamp down inflation throughout the period. The 1950s into 1965 reimagined with the GDP growth rates but not the effects later on of a declining top bracket tax rate and locked in low rates that could not head off inflation.

The FED eventually will relax rates but not much. By a comparison to the zero rates years the FED will raise rates and keep them higher. Everything is relative ultra low rates were very recent history.