A brief update on my positions and thoughts

A brief update on my positions and thoughts

I thought I’d write a brief update as I made some changes in my portfolio since my end of January summary.

First, in January I had sold out of my Mongo position. Here’s a synopsis of what I wrote:

MongoDB, had a very uncomfortable month, with Amazon entering the field as a competitor, and then Red Hat, representing the pure open-source point of view, attacking Mongo too, for trying to protect their open source model from being used for free as Amazon was doing, a veering away from pure open-source. I read all the positive opinions on Mongo which seemed very convincing, and all the negative opinions on Mongo, which also seemed very convincing, and decided, since I have zero technical knowledge to help me decide which is right, or if the truth is somewhere in-between, that Mongo was just too much of a battleground stock for me, and I sold out of part of my position, and then all of it…. I am in no way sure that I was correct in doing so. I may have been completely wrong. In fact the preponderance of evidence seemed to be that this could be even a positive for Mongo, and I know that they will have great results for their Jan quarter, but it made me worry about the long term viability of their open source business model… As I said, I simply have other companies without that kind of issue and existential worry. Again, I may be completely wrong but that’s what I did.

Well I decided I was wrong and bought back into Mongo these past two weeks, and I currently am up to a 3% position.

Second, Square. I wrote last month that it had been 2.6% of my portfolio at the end of December and was now (end of January) up to 4.7%. It’s now up to 5.3%, although the price has dropped from $78 to $72, as I have added significant amounts as my confidence has returned as they keep coming out with amazing new products, and the CEO has regained seriousness.