A rookie's portfolio update

Hello All-

This is my first portfolio update and only the second time I’ve contributed to this board. I have read everything on here for the last couple of months and frankly have felt like I could not really contribute much to the discussions with my investing experience. I hope its ok that I contribute a portfolio update because I am just thoroughly excited about the future of my investing. For any new board members (or board lurkers like me) wondering if they should take a leap into Saul’s world, I can say it has certainly changed my investing path for the better.

I have spent 16 years of working life investing exclusively in mutual funds and ETFs. For the most part I tried to diversify by selecting various vanguard index funds. Thanks to a very good employer 2 for 1 match on contributions, I was pleased with the results so long as there was a profession to keep my attention (I’m a government attorney).

I’m one of the people that started paying closer attention to the retirement account while working from home during idle hours. I sold nothing. I took the ride all the way down to the bottom in February/ March. I talked myself several times out of exiting the market. I lurked around these boards and finally restarted my paid TMF subscription mid-June. I spent about three weeks tinkering with the account based on TMF recommendations and what I learned here from Saul and all the others who so meaningfully contribute to this board. Thankfully all my tinkering was in a 401(a). I would say I sputtered around a lot in June trying to find the right portfolio for me. It would be embarrassing to tell you the number of transactions I had in that account in June.