A Wealth of Opportunities

“Hello, my name is Tiptree, and I am a recovering CAN-SLIM trader. I haven’t looked for a cup-and-handle pattern for over 10 years.”

“Hi Tiptree”

Yes, it is true. This Motley Fool fanboy was once a devotee of charts and momentum investing. Sometime between my initial “National Association of Investment Clubs” days, and my full embrace of Foolishness about 15 years ago, I dabbled in CAN-SLIM investing. I pored over the pages of IBD and took a lot of flyers on stocks without ever looking at a balance sheet or income statement. It worked…sometimes. But I finally wised up, went cold-turkey, and developed a more traditional, fundamental-analysis method for searching for high-quality growth companies. That has worked phenomenally well, giving me no regrets for abandoning William O’Neil and his methods.

But I still suscribe to IBD on-line, and get the weekend edition of the print version of IBD. I find some data useful for evaluating the timeliness of an investment can be found there. And I love it when the IBD ranking, the “SSG” I learned how to construct in my old NAIC days, and my own Tiptree research all say “buy”. It is a triple confirmation signal that I rarely ignore.

So, today I sat down and went through last weekend’s “IBD 50”, the 50 top-ranked stocks in the IBD way of evaluating companies. Each has a little box with a chart and a few data elements in it. I went through and circled the ones that had an annual EPS growth rate that exceeded the PE ratio, a crude way of screening for 1YPEG candidates. Of the 50 companies highlighted, no fewer than 21 made it past that simple screen.

Twenty one. Over forty percent of the top performing companies in the IBD scheme were potential low 1YPEG stocks. Now, this is not exactly true, since it is using GAAP earnings, but YOWSA! That is a lot of opportunities!

Here is the complete list, with the corresponding ranking within the IBD 50:

1. Ambarella (AMBA)
  2. Cambrex (CBM)