Analyzing ZM + Lumen partership (meaningfull o?)

Today ZM announced a parternship with Lumen to include Zoom in their Unified Communications & Collaboration Suite and i was trying to understand whether it’s something meaningfull for future revenue or not. I’m still new to the ropes of investing so everytime i read something like this, it’s difficult to asses whether it’s something relevant for the business or just noise. So i’m going through the process here to share with others and hopefully improve as well from feedback and other’s opinions.

I haven’t heard about Lumen or Century Link (they used to be called that) so i did a little reasearch and it seems they provide infrastructura, connectivity and related services to both enterprise, smb and consumers.

Before digging into the numbers, i’ve looked for the releases of each of the two companies but i couldn’t find Lumen’s realease on their site. Maybe it’s just poor corporate communications with i doubt this would happen if it wasn’t something significant for Lumen. In fact i found them still listing Webex, BlueJEands and Skype in their collaboration suite page (https://www.lumen.com/en-us/solutions/collaboration.html) but not Zoom mention.

Zoom (through their CRO, Ryan Azus) said: “We’re excited to partner with Lumen to ensure wider availability of our platform.” & “Customers expect that Zoom will be ready and working when they need it.”

In the same PR Lumen’s Sr. Dir. of Product Mgmt, Craig Richter, said “Partnering with Zoom means we can offer our worldwide customers an industry leading edge enterprise video communications platform… This is a terrific addition to our Unified Communications portfolio…”

From those quotes i’m sensing that is just another sales outlet for ZM and just another service for Lumen’s customers, so before digging into numbers, the news seem rather intracendental.