"Avatar" anxiety? Ha!

I found my way back to the public board. The Fool has switched up the discussion boards and I am still learning it. I thought this board might have been gone. But here it is.

I will share this Deadline article about James Cameron and his Avatar anxiety:

James Cameron Says ‘Avatar 3’ Could Be Last Film In Saga If ‘The Way Of Water’ Sequel Underperforms – Deadline

If you do some major reading-between-lines here, I’m guessing he is almost hopeful to get an excuse to stop making the films. It’s just way too long of a time between the original/sequel, and I wonder too if DIS is looking at it from a business perspective (wait, did I actually say I wonder that vis a vis DIS??; it’s one of the reasons I love the company!)…the company may want a certain ROI on the project, especially as it concerns streaming subscribers after the film ports to D+…maybe Cameron is wondering aloud if the movie may not create enough hype on streaming in the Tik-Tok age to justify further investment. I also have to assume, without checking, there may be some legacy co-finance partners on the franchise, and DIS might not want to continue sharing profits with outside funds. (Not to mention Cameron must have some huge stake, although supposedly he may have given up points in favor of increasing the budget; I sometimes doubt those type of rumors for such A-list talent)

DIS could perhaps structure some sort of sale of the franchise if it wanted to so that the movies could continue while DIS could allocate resources elsewhere. Cameron/DIS could also consider switching from theatrical to streaming series starting with the fourth film…i.e., tell those stories in that perhaps less-risky medium. Just thinking aloud here.