Investing class for teenager

I am not an investing expert. Just use that as the backdrop.

Short version:
Suggestions and comments for creating a tailored investing class for my teenager.

Full version:
My daughter turns 13 this week. I’ve been thinking about how to get her excited about investing for her future. Recently, she was very stoked to see the power of compounding interest. So I’ve been thinking of how I can make investing a part of her life, vs. just something “dad does”. Then I realized, hey, we home school. So I can make whatever kind of class I want to add investing into the weekly schedule (currently, I’m the math guy at home).

Ideas I have so far include:

• review/dig into the crux of “Saul’s approach”
  • do a mock portfolio where she picks some and I pick some
  • do a real portfolio with a small amount of money

What I’m not clear on just yet is where to go (other than doing a general web search) for a number of basics about investing. Most of what I’ve learned I’ve learned from various MF boards. But it would be nice to have some “material” to use, vs. just my memory of what I’ve learned.

Thanks for any ideas!
-FrickNFool

1 Like

it would be nice to have some “material” to use, vs. just my memory of what I’ve learned.

TMF actually publishes some basic intro books, including one specifically for teens (which I have not read):

http://www.amazon.com/Motley-Fool-Investment-Guide-Teens/dp/…

Just go to Amazon and search for “motley fool” and you’ll see a few different books.

Personally, if there were just 3 key points I could get to stick with my child, they’d be the following:

(1) Put your money to work for you; don’t let it rot in a bank account. The power of compounding is obviously the major component of this, so it sounds like you’re making good progress on it.