Question for Saul & Others

Hi Saul, I have been using a financial planner for the last 9 years and do all my trades through him presently. However, I now feel enough confidence to make a transition to using an online broker myself.

I was just wondering which on line brokers you are using and how happy you are with their services. I probably won’t trade frequently so I’m more interested in the ease of use and functional capabilities.

Please let me know what you think and Thanks much, Brian

I did a survey early this year which looked at a number of reviews and surveys. I have ticked you for a private reply and if you answer it, I am happy to send you a copy. While there is some likely bias by my own interests, it covers a lot which would also provide information on other interests.

Clearly, there are some which are appealing based on price, but for a small number of trades, that is unlikely to matter.

Some appeal based on a particular type of transaction, i.e., options, but for someone who is just doing a few regular purchases and sales, that is irrelevant.

Some are appealing on the breadth of their services. There are clear standouts there, notably in number of no commission ETFs and MF, but again that may or may not interest you. This includes other services like checking accounts, bill pay, and credit card. Access to international exchanges is another area of differentiation and possible interest or disinterest.

All provide a browser interface, some have optional software. In some cases, one needs to qualify for the software, e.g., by trade volume.

The base of my data comes from this Barron’s review
http://online.barrons.com/articles/SB50001424053111904628504…
but there are 7 others I got some data or rankings from.

2 Likes

CB: