Roth IRA Conversion

Does anyone know if there is a discussion board on The Fool, or any articles, covering this topic? Seriously considering doing one of these and am interested in any feedback from those who have or are familiar with the process.

Thanks!

Bimmer

Does anyone know if there is a discussion board on The Fool, or any articles, covering this topic? Seriously considering doing one of these and am interested in any feedback from those who have or are familiar with the process.

Besides asking here, this topic also gets discussed quite a bit on the Retirement Investing board https://discussion.fool.com/retirement-investing-100154.aspx?mid…

3 Likes

As already mentioned, this and the Retirement Investing board are probably where this subject comes up the most.

What are your questions? I have been doing partial Roth conversions for several years.

AJ

Hi AJ,

Thanks for responding.

I want to do exactly what you are doing. My accounts are held by Etrade where they unfortunately seem to have no idea how to make this happen.

So I’m stuck.

Any advice you have will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Bimmer

I want to do exactly what you are doing. My accounts are held by Etrade where they unfortunately seem to have no idea how to make this happen.

So I’m stuck.

Any advice you have will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Bimmer

aj will no doubt be along but I will get the ball rolling. I too have been doing Roth Conversions for a number of years.

Not sure what you mean when you say “Etrade where they unfortunately seem to have no idea how to make this happen.”.

E-trade, like most brokers, does offer Roth Accounts.

https://us.etrade.com/what-we-offer/our-accounts/roth-ira

All you do is set one up. Then transfer assets from your T-IRA to the Roth. Voila, you have done a Roth Conversion.

The “Art” of Roth Conversions is figuring out the amount to convert in a given year. There are a lot of moving parts. I will leave it at that for now.