Stock picking is like golf

I started playing golf 4 years ago. Today, I am very average. One day I hit my drives great but putting is poor. The next time, my chipping is great but driving is poor. I think I am swinging the clubs the same way but something minor can be off which causes me to hit the ball much worse than I wanted to hit it ie my swing plane, the weather.

Stock picking seems the same way to me. I am very average, and the last three months very poor. One day I pick a stock with great earnings and low 1YRPEG but it goes down ie SKX. The next time, I pick a stock with little earnings and/or a high, high PE and it goes up tremendously ie AMZN.

I guess I need to remind myself that if golf and stock picking were easy, we would all be scratch golfers and multi-millionaires! This has been a rough couple of months for me with AMBA, BOFI, SKX, and NFLX going down while GOOG, FB and AMZN are doing great. I live to fight another day on the course this afternoon and against the market this morning. Five years from now I think this will all be forgotten and I will have a single digit handicap and only green on my screen! Have a great weekend!

Htownrich

10 Likes

Five years from now I think this will all be forgotten and I will have a single digit handicap and only green on my screen

As an avid golfer for about 50 years, I have some bad news for you about that single digit handicap…hope you do better with the green screen.

DT

1 Like

If the quest for a single-digit handicap is important, consider an innovative approach like a higher radix. Various historic examples can be found below, but why be constrained by precedents?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radix

:sunglasses:

2 Likes

RH you cracked me up, very nerdy of you

1 Like

Stock picking is like golf

and it takes a lot of balls to play they way I do :wink:

3 Likes

If the quest for a single-digit handicap is important, consider an innovative approach like a higher radix