Super-educated slaves

As a chemistry graduate student, I got free classes and even a pittance of a salary as a laboratory teaching (and later research) assistant. I lived on the $3,000 a year, using my LBYM skills.

I observed that much of the work in the research labs was done by postdocs – scientists with Ph.D.s who worked with little recognition and very little pay. I decided that was a non-starter toward my goal of becoming financially independent. I got an M.S. in Chemistry and went to work in industry, which was well-paid (and which I really enjoyed). I later got an M.B.A. and moved from research into product management.

Non-scientist grad students are in a worse position. Most of them have to pay for their graduate education. After their Ph.D.s, they can work as postdocs or as adjunct professors for a pittance. In 2010 (in retirement), I taught Chemistry for Science Majors at the local community college for a year. It was a lot of work (lesson plans, teaching and setting up 33 separate lab lessons). I did it for personal entertainment but tried to do a quality job.

I met the younger adjuncts who were teaching to make a living. The department tried to keep them to 2 classes each because they would be full-time (and get health benefits) if they taught 3 classes. These were mature people in their 30s and 40s who still lived on the edge of ruin because the pay was so low. I don’t know why they continued to teach but they were dedicated. If they were high school teachers at least they would have had decent pay and benefits.

American universities rely on this exploitation. It’s one step removed from outright slavery. Now UCLA has taken that final step.

https://www.nytimes.com/2022/04/06/us/ucla-adjunct-professor…

**Help Wanted: Adjunct Professor, Must Have Doctorate. Salary: $0.**

**After protests, U.C.L.A. took down a job posting that offered no pay. But it turns out colleges often expect Ph.D.s to work for free.**