Technical analysis

First let me point out that I am no TA expert. And second that at I think only a few TA patterns have any significance. And none often fit my definition of a good signal, something like a classical head and shoulders. Still even a 55 to 45 odds are better than a coin flip.
these from my stocks

ALGN- big up gap to be filled between 205 and 225
ANET- support between 190-195
BABA - support triple bottom around 196
CGNX- uptrend line around 63
NVDA- rather weak support 187- 190
PAYC - no TA signal, steady uptrend despite recent decline
SHOP - base 76 months around 90-95
SQ- no TA here, Blow off over last month.
TREE - not falling. Not considered tech stock?
TSLA - weak support around 300

remarks
TSLA ignore TA. It all depends on Mod 3 production
NVDA I think forces behind NVDA are so strong as to be nearly unstoppable, so would ignore TA here
ALGN I am not a gap believer, but others are. Still I would buy near 205

Which stocks might I buy close to today’s prices? At least based on TA?
TREE, BABA,TSLA,PAYC

But in fact I have not decided. I do have cash available.
Historically if you bought stocks like AMZN and AAPL on dips you did well. But it might have taken a long time with gut wrenching declines before you started making money

A key here is that so far the other indices are going up, meaning those stocks are getting more expensive while Saul type stocks getting less expensive. The institutional rotation will be over soon. At the end of it Saul type stocks will be more attractive.

7 Likes

Mauser,

Thanks for the intro to TA. Does it typically hold up during sector rotations and/or market pullbacks?

Bear

Bear, I really don’t know. Except for a few special cases I do not think it works .Or when it does it is most often a self fulfilling prophecy . But it may shift the odds slightly.

I was just presenting it because I can think of no other way to choose which of the Saul stocks to buy on dips. What other criteria do you have?