Thought processes

I like this board because…

• It makes me think. Probably more so than any other board I have seen.
  • It provides me with new ideas. Some have been good, others not so much so far.
  • Saul does an excellent job of contributing and moderating it.

I don’t post a lot but I do soak it all in. I will probably always feel like I’m still learning rather than having wisdom to share. Rather than analyzing my holdings I stopped to analyze the thought processes involved for me and decided to think through those a little.

I don’t adhere to Saul’s methodology for investing. I don’t do the deep dives into financials and I hold more than 20 stocks. However, I have been trying to incorporate some of that thinking into my decisions because it has merit. As a few recent posts have illustrated there are other people here that follow different plans. iVish has 120 stocks and seems to be quite comfortable with that. Anirban had 53 and had a number of people say that was too many. Yes, it’s probably too many IF you want to adhere to Saul’s teachings. And I think sweetadeline was maybe going all in on one, which also prompted a few comments. In my case I have even more than that 53 and would have to say that I have a mix of philosophies in progress. I’m not trying to say to anyone that is a good practice. It’s just what I have now. I can’t say that I want to do what Saul does, even though I’d certainly take his results. I don’t think digging into financials would be enjoyable for me, nor would drawing out graphs manually on paper. I respect them as sound practices, but just not what I want to do. I would say that I’ve moved toward more Saul-like thinking and that has improved my thought processes.