Time to buy the auto sector?

I’m no expert on the auto sector (cue: Steve) but I do like to buy during temporary dislocations. (Like XOM in March 2020.)

The U.S. auto makers are being hit by two problems at once this week: the shortage of semiconductors due to the supply chain delay and also the Covid strikes on the Canadian bridges which are cutting off the supply of auto parts.

https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-1-d&q=for…
https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-1-d&q=GM+…
https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-1-d&q=toy…
https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-1-d&q=hon…

Toyota looks good – low P/E, decent dividend wihich is well covered by earnings. Does it make sense to buy Toyota?

Wendy

1 Like

We are also watching this sector. We had been leaning towards TM due to range concerns for EV, but this popped today: States are getting the go-ahead to build a nationwide network of electric vehicle charging stations that would place new or upgraded ones every 50 miles (80 kilometers) along interstate highways as part of the Biden administration’s plan to spur widespread adoption of the zero-emission cars.

The administration on Thursday announced the availability of $5 billion in federal money to states over five years under President Joe Biden’s infrastructure law, sketching out a vision of seamless climate-friendly car travel from coast to coast.

https://abcnews.go.com/Politics/wireStory/states-ahead-build…

Encouraging but " …fast-charger ports, which enable drivers to fully recharge their vehicles in about an hour." Fast is not so fast. Still, it’s good if it gets you home where you can charge fully.