Using massive leverage to short companies on CTrader during a bear market

I am an absolute beginner and I have yet to make a single trade, so bear with me (pun not intended).

Short selling seems a lot easier than picking a stock. Especially in this market. There are companies that are screwed right now, I know they’re screwed and that isn’t changing.

Bed Bath and Beyond (BBBY), Aston Martin (GBX) and Norweigan Air Shuttle (ASA) are three of them. I don’t see some of sort of influx of customers or investors. They also have a consistent string of consecutive red days.

My question is, how do I use insane leverage on these companies to short them? I believe IC Markets offers 1:500 leverage.

Am I right in thinking leverage can be described as a multiplier? And 1:500 leverage means all market moves are amplified x500?

Let’s say a stock is worth $10, I buy 1 stock for $10 with no leverage (1:1?)
Does this mean if the stock hits $11 my position is now worth $11 with a profit of $1?

Let’s say a stock is worth $10, I buy 1 stock for $10 but this time with with x500 leverage (1:500?)
Does this mean if the stock hits $11 my position is now worth $511 with a profit of $500?

Doesn’t this mean that if it’s obvious a stock is moving in a certain direction, and the overrall market is very bearish or bullish, the upsides of x500 position outweigh the risk of being margin called?

I can play with $1000. I’m prepared to loose every penny of it. If I put $1000 in a short position on a stock with 1:500 leverage, the market only has to move down a little for me to make serious money. Now, this also means the market only has to move up a hair for my position to be margin called (?) and closed at a large loss. But I’m not emotionally invested in this $1000, I don’t mind loosing that $1000. And there are stocks persistently red that I’ve identified, a stock only needs to be red for a few days for me to make a lot of profit.