What makes it all worthwhile?

What makes it all worthwhile?

I do get discouraged at times, and it’s awfully nice to get some encouragement. Here are a few emails I received in the past few days. I won’t bother you with all of them. They warmed my heart and I really appreciated them.
Saul

Hi Saul, I wanted to thank you for your continuing patience in sharing your views on investing. I’ve been following the recent discussions on DDOG, ESTC, and MDB. I see in these discussions (and in the past) how trying it must sometimes get dealing with the criticism and personal attacks. I’m glad you still share your views in spite of the challenges. Four years after I first found your discussion board I’m still learning from your bits of wisdom! It has been a truly life changing experience, learning such a clear and easily understood view on investing.
Thank you!

Saul, Hang in there, my friend. Ignore the stupid character attacks. Those of us who have been a part of your board since its inception see this stuff for what it is. And put me down as one who deeply appreciates you and am deeply indebted to all the years of sharing you have freely given to this board.

Hi Saul, You teach, you preach, and then as always in life, get a knife stuck stuck somewhere in the rib cage, and as Dreamer and others have not had the benefit of gains from $28 to now on the Datadog and therefore totally missed out, he starts the usual flaming.

I don’t post as much anymore as I seriously think many don’t understand what you are saying… fwiw I did buy a bunch of DDOG shares at $28 and just sold two-thirds 15 minutes ago… more than happy. If it runs on great, if not fine…

My portfolio now just shy of 70% returns for the year. However this was mostly simply my instinct in holding on to a large Apple allocation. You advised me some time ago to let go. I didn’t listen but I listened to everything else, and it’s made me a better investor. As always, my best to you.

121 Likes