Why are parking lots a neglected source of energy?

4 Likes

Answer: lack of investment.

Making investors aware is a good start.

Reality is few of our green energy opportunities are fully developed. Investors seem to lack confidence that the investments will payout. Better returns expected in fossil fuels.

5 Likes

How much of a WalMart’s parking lot would have to be covered with solar panels before it would only have to buy power at night? If they covered it all would they be able to store enough to not even have to buy it at night? Multiply that times factories, shopping centers, airports. People at airports would probably even pay extra to have their cars under solar panels in long term storage. I have no background in electrical engineering or energy finance, but this seems like a way to do a lot of good things, green energy and jobs, and save or make money for investors.

4 Likes

Solar panel covered parking lots are pretty common in Hawaii. Covered tennis courts too. But Hawaii has lots of sun and high electricity costs.

According to this cool map, France isn’t a great location for solar:

2 Likes

Covering a parking lot is a lot more expensive than putting panels on a building. For a parking lot you need infrastructure: poles in the ground, supporting structure, and of course, making sure you’re orienting everything to the sun. That’s not how parking lots have historically been envisioned or built.

Put solar panels on a rooftop? Well, there’s already a rooftop to put them on.

At some point (as electricity becomes more expensive) this sort of scheme makes a lot of sense. At today’s prices vs construction costs I’d sort of doubt it - unless there’s a subsidy for carbon reduction, but I don’t see a program of the magnitude needed to move the needle in the immediate future.

3 Likes