FinallyFoolin Portfolio January 2021

A bit about FinallyFoolin.

I’ve posted a little on the board but mostly lurk. I’ve actually been doing monthly writeups for 6 months now but haven’t posted any of them until now. I’m in IT (Database Administrator) by trade, working for a local consulting company.

In 2014 I got tired of the returns Morgan Stanley was getting for me and I took everything away from them and started my investing journey. I started with Motley Fool’s Rule Breakers as a guide and read financial news on fool.com daily. As I started out, I quickly found I did not have the stomach for volatility. After finding Saul’s board, I realized that this interpretation was wrong. I lacked the conviction in my companies, not the stomach for volatility.

Anyway, my first couple years on my own were pretty rough. I kept the allocation from Morgan Stanley in a portfolio watch list for comparison and that helped a ton because, well, it was really bad. I almost gave up and just put everything in an S&P 500 index fund or ETF. Then, things started to click. From there on, I was beating the S&P with regularity by about 10% or so. I was happy with this but came to the realization that my 40 position portfolio was a lot to manage AND that my smaller companies were doing better than my larger ones. At this time, my biggest positions were Amazon, Netflix, Microsoft, Apple… Among the smaller ones were Twilio, Shopify and Okta. I began to look for better ways to uncover these and my goal was to have my entire portfolio be made up of smaller companies.