Moritz’ Portfolio Summary - February 2023

Hey 👋!

The goal of this portfolio review is to help you understand how I think about investing, see what I’m doing, and help me learn. I hope this review is useful for you!

This review has 4 parts:

1. How my investments did compared to the overall market
  2. How my money is invested and how strongly I believe in each investment
  3. The changes I made last month to invest in new opportunities or reduce risk
  4. Updates on the companies I invested in

Disclaimer: This portfolio summary is for informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice. I am not a professional, please don’t follow me blindly and my perspectives could provide wrong conclusions.

1. How my investments did compared to the overall market

Timestamp: 2/28/2023

2. My Portfolio

Tier 1: Champions enjoy my highest conviction due to excellent company performance and execution. They usually have a 15+% allocation.
Tier 2: Contenders are either rising stars due to good performance, but they lack full confidence, or past champions due to declining performance. They are sized between 5 % and 15 %.
Tier 3: Bench – These positions are either new ones that I want to keep on my radar/get to know or fallen angels which I want to keep for some (bad) reason.

3. The changes I made last month

Trimmed: BILL

I lost some confidence since my last update. To recap, revenue fell from 94% year over year (YoY) in Q1 to 66% in Q2—a sharp slowdown. Further investigation revealed Bill seems to be a merger and acquisition (M&A)-Divvy story that is becoming too complicated for me.

Still, the >50% full-year (FY) guide gives me confidence. I might add back if the stock price keeps declining. I believe Bill is now at the lower end of valuation with a forward price-to-sales (P/S) ratio of 10.

Added: The Trade Desk