My experience with Options

Hi Everybody,
Even though options are OT for this board, Saul mentioned to me that I should post my experience here.
This should serve as a reminder of why options are OT on this board.
Around 2009-2010 I started playing with buying some AAPL calls. I was following a newsletter by a very convincing writer named Jason Schwarz. The first year or two I would make a little and lose a little from time to time, yet as I watched AAPL stock over those first couple of years I began to believe that I could see a pattern (as did Jason Schwarz and other writers such as Andy Zaky)

http://fortune.com/2013/03/04/the-rise-and-fall-of-andy-zaky…

So in 2012 I got serious about trading AAPL calls (buying at the bottom of the range - usually holding for the period up to and sometimes partially through earnings etc. - mitigating risk by selling at the tops of the current trading range.)

My story, however painful, could have been much worse (I will post some stories I have heard from Financial Industry insiders. While substantial to me, the amount of money could have been much larger.)

My Roth account then had gone from about 30k to maybe 12k through bad stock picking (I had not found Saul or the board yet). I started trading options seriously (using my whole account for that purpose) in the spring. At first I tripled my account in a few months but then I held through a swoon (probably around May, June) and was down to about 8k. Then after sticking it out through that downturn the account went up something like %700 in a couple of months (to 55k).

From that success I became so convinced that I knew what I was doing. My friends that I worked with said I was so arrogant about trading that I was unbearable to be around when that subject came up. Lol
So now, that I was doing so well instead of putting some money aside into safer investments, I decided to start trading my wife’s Roth with AAPL calls as well.