Need guidance with a 10k investment

Hi all,

I’m new to investing and got a subscription for Stock Advisor. I have around 10k that I want to invest. After watching some videos online and reading a bunch of articles on Motley Fool and other websites, I understand that it’s better to invest in companies you know and care about. I work in IT and have a better understanding of tech companies. I was thinking about buying 4 stocks: Nvidia, Broadcom, Airbnb, and Super Micro. While reading through the suggestions on Stock Advisor, it advises to not invest in less than 10 stocks. So, I’m a little confused and would appreciate any guidance.

• Should I invest 1k in 10 different stocks?
  • How do I pick those 10 stocks as Stock Advisor has a lot of options?
  • It is a good idea to invest everything in the tech sector or should I include stocks for healthcare, natural resources, etc.

Thanks.

If you subscribe to Stock Advisor, they have a premium discussion board where you can receive personal advice. Better to post your question there.

The tech stocks you mention are excellent. I have Nvidia. The main question should be is now the time to buy. Nvidia is the clear leader in AI chips and still has a ways to go. Earnings are strong. They can sell all they can make. Of course it won’t last forever. But earnings are strong. I think OK to buy but watch it. PE compression could make for a correction. But stock will likely recover.

I know that Broadcom and Super Micro are of interest for their AI components. I think higher risk that Nvidia. Not sure about Airbnb.

As to what to own, that depends on your goals. A concentrated portfolio can be ok while it does well. A diversified portfolio is less risky and usually preferred by many. Better on the downside but less rewarding on the upside. Etfs can be used for diversification if you want to focus attention on tech stocks.

1 Like