OT: Metar and Timing

I have had little to offer on this board because I started trading my bonds for cash over the last two years and came into the year with roughly 1/3 cash and 2/3 ltbh equities.

So….what good is the oversized cash position if I have no idea when and how to deploy it?

My present plan is to remain overweight cash if the markets pivot or bounce off the lows of last June because the cash was intended to serve as a hedge against a deep and sustained crash early in my retirement.

If it breaks through the lows of last June I may start averaging in slowly or I may stay significantly overweight cash until next February to see if the Fed sticks to its Guns.

Thoughts?

2 Likes

I can relate. Every time I get to a large cash position, say 15% or more, I usually don’t hold it long for many of those reasons you state. Will I know when to get back in? So then I start deploying some and within a week I might be down to under 5% again.

But if you are early in retirement, as you said, I think I’d want a large cash cushion. Like, constantly. All the time. How much is dependent on each person’s circumstances. But I would want a lot of cash so that if markets tank I can live off cash, not sell securities on the cheap. Then wait for the rebound and use that to slowly re-fill the cash cushion.

YMMV.

1 Like

Best timing I ever did was go 100% short term treasuries in the summer of 2008, due to the information collected on this board.

I have been cash heavy since mid 2016, due to risk being off the scale.

Added back some more equities in 21. Started shifting back to cash a few months ago.

So far:

WHR sold at $188.09. Close today 157.80

Parker Hannifin sold at 271.11. Close today 269.61

Coke sold at 62.25. Close today 62.15

3M sold at 155.98. Close today 124.86

Kimberly Clark sold at 120.78 Close today 128.83

J&J sold at 163.40 Close today 162.43