OT: Moral dilemma

First, a note - I do know how to spell the spiral type of connector, but TMF thinks I am describing something else and won’t let me use the word.

When we powered up our refrigerator in July, after our long vacation, it stopped cooling. Remembering what caused that the last time, II pulled it out of its alcove (non-trivial) and tried to figure out what the problem was. In a world where I have to convince a dubious wife that I actually can fix “anything”, I threw up my hands and said “OK, I’ll call a repairman”. Finding one that felt “trustworthy” was not an easy task, but this story is not about that.

I was out when the guy showed up and when he heard I was an engineer, he told my wife that the repair was “so simple that even I should have easily fixed it”. He was a recent Ukrainian immigrant and had decided that he could repair appliances for a living (and the telephone call I made to “his company” was actually some sort of booking service and it was his turn to be called). Anyhow when I came home, apparently he had replaced the fan in the freezer which blows the cold air into the refrigerator compartment and the fridge was working fine - except that every half hour or so it sounded like a bucket of bolts was shaking it up.

So we called him back for another shot at it. He was dubious that it was his fault until he heard the noise and then replaced his fan with another new one. Just in case, I save the fan he replaced (and, of course after watching him, now I know how easy it is to replace and am embarrassed that I didn’t just watch the process on You Tube).

About a week later, we called him back as the replacement fan was making somewhat different, but similar noises. He changed the fan again (shaking his head that one could have been a factory defect, but two in a row was unlikely - but the evidence was what it was) and I took the fan he had just replaced and put it with the other one “just in case”.