Posted without comment (g)

5 Likes

This message brought to you by the gym owners association.

I can buy an exercise bike for the cost of a one year membership in the cheapest gym in town, and it takes me 8 or 9 years to wear out the bike. The dumbbells I have are probably 30 years old.

To while away the hours, as I pedal. I have a TV and DVD player in the room with the bike, bought at Salvation Army for $12 and $5 respectively.

Steve

2 Likes

Although I have been lifting weights at gyms since 1974 (long before women were encouraged to do resistance training) it’s not necessary to join a gym for strength training.

Many yoga poses use body weight as resistance. One of the most strenuous fitness classes I ever took was an intermediate-level yoga class. The benefit is more than strength training – it’s the ability to use one’s own body, enhancing proprioception and balance. I would recommend warming up the joints and muscles before doing strength-oriented flow yoga to avoid injury. By the way, I can still do a handstand at age 70 but TMF won’t let me post the video.

Wendy

9 Likes

I encourage everyone to do yoga.
Working construction almost 40yrs takes it’s toil on your body. Yoga has me feeling 20yrs younger!!

2 Likes

…and I will throw in vigorous forms of social dancing. Nothing like doing this for a few hours, and if you find it too EZ, just take a tot of Soctch or Bourbon depending on where you are.

Best treatment for depression as well.

d fb

4 Likes