The "JC" mind at work

I have seen several honchos act like this: think they can get an infinite amount of work out of people, if they keep beating on them, and tell the ones that push back they are welcome to quit, because they are completely expendable.

Steve

7 Likes

There are lots of other more cozy/comfy places to find work.

Which one would you prefer to invest in?

The Captain

2 Likes

work long hours or leave

I am a senior software engineer, I know quite a few others who are too. I know a couple of people at Twitter. We all laughed out loud immediately when we read Elon’s ‘sign up for misery and suffering, or I’ll FORCE you to take 3 months paid leave while you look for your next job’.

It’s like Eddie Izzard’s famous sketch about ‘If the Church of England had done the Spanish Inquisition’.

Cake, or death?

Hmm tough choice

9 Likes

Hi tech employee here (but in processor design), and all my friends are wondering why Twitter people aren’t all taking advantage of the severance and find a better place to work.

1 Like

Maybe your friends never experienced the thrill of creation.

The Captain
was once late to his birthday party absorbed in writing code late into the night.

3 Likes

OMG… The hilarity in that statement.

9 Likes

One third of TMF’s Mission Statement! :wink:

The Captain

1 Like

It seems that half of Twitter’s workforce is already out the door, and yet the company is still functioning. Policy questions aside, doesn’t this imply that the company was massively overstaffed?

DB2

2 Likes

I suspect if we look into the advertising revenue we will find that any savings have been wiped out, and not just in the short term. As I posted elsewhere, the “upfront” for on-line advertising is taking place now, this is a time when a sizable percentage of adbudgets for the next year are locked in and contracted for.